2017 Design Awards Jury





2017 Design Awards Jury


Tom Oslund, FASLA, FAAR .

oslund_adjTom Oslund, is considered one of the leading landscape architects in the country. He received his undergraduate degree in landscape architecture from the University of Minnesota and his graduate degree from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design. Tom received the prestigious Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome and has won over 60 design awards from various local, national, and international professional organizations and in 2012 was named as one of the Star Tribune’s Artists of the Year. Tom’s interest in art and passion for design are fueled by a commitment to design excellence and innovation.

Tom has more than 30 years of experience at a variety of project scales from 800-acre master planning efforts to a 5,000-square foot rooftop garden. Tom has taught at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, Washington University, Ohio State University, the University of Illinois, the Illinois Institute of Technology, Iowa State University, the University of Minnesota, and the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. He has also lectured widely on his work for such groups as the Corcoran School of Art in Washington D.C., the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, and the Chicago Botanical Garden.

Tom is known for designing engaging landscapes for some of the most discerning local, national, and international clientele. He has created engaging outdoor spaces for museums, colleges and universities, hospitals, corporate headquarters, urban campuses, and parks. His belief in the collaborative process yielded positive results and international recognition as an innovator when it comes to solving complex site design challenges.