2017 Design Awards Jury





2017 Design Awards Jury


Kim Yao, AIA
Architecture Research Office .

Kim YaoPrincipal Kim Yao, AIA, is principal, with Stephen Cassell and Adam Yarinsky, of Architecture Research Office (ARO), a 20-person firm based in New York City. The firm’s diverse project portfolio—spanning strategic planning, architecture and urban design—solves seemingly intractable problems with apparent ease, always with an effort to have the greatest aesthetic impact using the fewest natural and financial resources. This portfolio has earned the firm over seventy-five design awards including the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt 2011 National Design Award.

Kim holds an undergraduate degree in architecture from Columbia College: Columbia University and a Master of Architecture from Princeton University. She is Adjunct Assistant Professor of Architecture at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, and has also taught at the School of Constructed Environments, Parsons, the New School for Design and Barnard College (2001-2011). She has lectured in the United States and abroad. For the New York City chapter of the AIA, she is the Vice President of Public Outreach, and has served on the Nominating, Oculus, Honors and Design Awards Committees.